Tuesday, August 12, 2008

five love languages

(Ok, this is the last serious post this week, I promise!)

Unhappiness in relationships, according to Dr. Gary Chapman, is often due to the fact that we speak different love languages. Sometimes we don't understand our partner's requirements, or even our own. We all have a "love tank" that needs to be filled in order for us to express love to others, but there are different means by which our tank can be filled, and there are different ways that we can express love to others.

My primary love languages:

Acts of Service: 8
Quality Time: 8
Words of Affirmation: 7
Physical Touch: 4
Receiving Gifts: 3

Take the love language quiz

"Love conquers all things except poverty and toothache."
~~Mae West


Sailor said...

Interesting, when I did it gifts are last (not surprising to me), but physical touch came in third- behind service, and time. I would have thought higher, I love that affirmation of a hand or a pat or a hug.

Buttafly32681 said...

Hmh, intersting. Mine is Quality Time and then Words of Affirmation...

Cocotte said...

I'm probably the only woman to have ever scored a 1 on Acts of Service and a 9 on Physical Touch. I've always been self sufficient (I'm the computer geek here and can fix a vacuum cleaner, balance a checkbook, or call the furnace guy). My husband is the only person who can (or should be the only one)to satisfy my need for physical touch. Does that make sense?

Desmond Jones said...

Physical Touch 10
Quality Time 9
Affirmation 6
Service 5
Gifts 0

So, you don't need to send me presents for me to know you love me, right?

And gosh, what in the world could you do that would combine Physical Touch with Quality Time? Hmmmmmm. . .

I'm pretty sure Molly's Top Two would be Service and Affirmation. So we're not a total mismatch, but we've definitely got to pay attention. . .

Phyllis Renée said...

The results I posted were actually from a couple of years ago. Here are my results from taking the quiz this morning. I guess our language changes over time.

Physical Touch: 9
Quality Time: 8
Acts of Service: 6
Words of Affirmation: 6
Receiving Gifts: 1

Therese in Heaven said...

Words of Affirmation: 9
Physical Touch: 7
Quality Time: 7
Receiving Gifts: 5
Acts of Service: 2

I've taken this quiz before, but I've never had words of affirmation score so high on the list. Interesting.

Mud said...

Physical Touch: 11
Acts of Service: 8
Quality Time: 7
Words of Affirmation: 4
Receiving Gifts: 0

for a different kind of girl said...

Acts of Service: 10
Physical Touch: 8
Words of Affirmation: 6
Quality Time: 5
Receiving Gifts: 1

I get super turned on when Tool Man helps me clean, clearly. Based on the types of gifts he's given me in our life together, I definitely have resigned myself to the acts of service!

Did I say resigned? I mean appreciated with glee!

"RL" said...

Quality Time: 11
Acts of Service: 8
Physical Touch: 8
Words of Affirmation : 3
Gifts: 0

Mud said...

"The REAL" RL? Or some imposter?

Phyllis Renée said...

That's the real RL.

Tulipsanticipation said...

That was a hard quiz, I had a hard time choosing a lot. So maybe Quality time and Physical Touch could be reversed.

Words of Affirmation: 10
Quality Time: 8
Physical Touch: 6
Receiving Gifts: 4
Acts of Service: 1

C-Marie said...

That was interesting:

Quality Time: 9
Words of Affirmation: 9
Physical Touch: 8
Acts of Service: 4
Receiving Gifts: 0

Can I please just have one teensy weensy little present?